Best of ATS Conferences - ATS CDs/DVDs - Click Here!
The Foundation of the American Thoracic Society
Patient Education
ATS Job Board
Apply for Membership
Apply for Membership

Trudeau Award


The Trudeau Medalist is an individual with lifelong major contributions to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education, or clinical care. This award was established in 1926 and is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association.


1926-Theobald Smith, MD
1927-Edward R. Baldwin, MD
1928-Sir Robert Philip
1929-Eugene L. Opie, MD
1930-Henry Sewall, MD
1931-Allen K. Krause, MD
1932-Esmond R. Long, MD
1933-Lawrason Brown, MD
1934-William Snow Miller, MD
1935-Leroy U. Gardner, MD
1936-Edward W. Archibald, MD
1937-Charles J. Hatfield, MD
1938-Florence B. Seibert, PhD
1939-Gerald B. Webb, MD
1940-William Charles White, MD
1941-John Alexander, MD
1942-Emily P. Bissell
1943 David R. Lyman, MD
1944-James Alexander Miller, MD
1945-Florence R. Sabin, MD
1946-Max Pinner, MD
1947-Kendall Emerson, MD
1948-Rudolph J. Anderson, PhD
1949-Howard W. Bosworth, MD
1950-John B. Barnwell, MD
1951-Rene J. Dubos, PhD
1952-J. Burns Amberson, MD
1953-James J. Waring, MD
1954-Edgar M. Medlar, MD
1955-William H. Foldman, DVM
1956-Max B. Lurie, MD
1957-David T. Smith, MD
1958-H. Corwin Hinshaw, MD
1959-Edith M. Lincoln, MD
1960-Arnold R. Rich, MD
1961-Selman A. Waksman, PhD
1962-John D. Steele, MD
1963-Walsh McDermott, MD
1964-Carroll E. Palmer, MD
1965-William Steenken, DSc
1966-William B. Tucker, MD
1967-Leon H. Schmidt, PhD
1968-Dickinson W. Richards, MD
1969-Katharine R. Boucot Sturgis, MD
1970-Richard L. Riley, MD
1971-Ander F. Cournand, MD
1972-Shirley Ferebee Woolpert
1973-Julia M. Jones, MD
1974-Julius H. Comroe, Jr., MD
1975-Ronald V. Christie
1976-H. Stuart Willis, MD
1977-Alvan L. Barach, MD
1978-Theodore L. Badger, MD
1979-Oscar Auerbach, MD
1980-Roger S. Mitchell, MD
1981-Edward A. Gaensler, MD
1982-John A Clements, MD
1983-Gladys L. Hobby, PhD
1984-Mary Ellen Avery, MD
1985-Hermann Rahn, PhD
1986-Emanuel Wolinsky, MD
1987-George Willis Comstock, MD
1988-William W. Stead, MD
1989-Arthur B. DuBois, MD
1990-Jeremiah Meead, MD
1991-Lynne McArthur Reid, MD
1992-Solbert Permutt, MD
1993-David V. Bates, MD
1994-John F. Murray, MD
1995-Robert F. Grover, MD, PhD
1996-Roland H. Ingram, Jr., MD
1997-Jay A. Nadel, MD
1998-Reuben M. Cherniack, MD
1999-Peter T. Macklem, MD
2000-Joseph H. Bates, MD
2001-Alfred P. Fishman, MD
2002-John B. West, MD
2003-Gerard M. Turino, MD
2004-Philip C. Hopewell, MD
2005-Michael D. Iseman, MD
2006-Joseph Milic-Emili, MD
2007-Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD
2008-Marvin I. Schwarz, MD

61 Broadway · New York, NY 10006-2755 · Voice: 212-315-8600 · Fax: 212-315-6498
Questions or comments? Contact Us.
Copyright © 2009 American Thoracic Society · Web Site Requirements · Privacy Statement